Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Don't Jinx Yourself!


     So I have four pets.  Two cats and two dogs.  When I leave my dogs at home I usually close the doors to the bedrooms so they don't go and do their business on the carpets (the living room area has hardwood floors).  But lately they have been really good and haven't had any accidents so when I went to work this morning I was like I'm going to leave the door open.  Plus the litter box is in the bedroom so that way the cats can access it.
 I go home for lunch today and I bring my friend from work with me and I had commented to her on how great the dogs had been lately and they haven't been having any accidents on the carpet so I decided to leave the bedroom door open.  I was like I hope I didn't jinx myself by saying that!  So we get to my place I look around to check and it is completely clean and I tell my dogs how good they are. 
     Well when I left I closed the door this time and I left one of my cats out in the living room with the dogs.  When I got home I started walking around and I knew I could smell shit.  I was like great..  So I start looking around to see where the accident was and I find two lovely piles of diarrhea.  I'm pretty sure it was from the cat.  So of course I'm out of latex gloves so I tie Safeway plastic bags around my hands and start cleaning (while trying not to gag, I may have gagged a little).  I clean it, get rid of it and move on.
    I think proceed to feed the pets, feed myself and relax a little before my friend comes to pick me up.  Usually I'm home on week nights but I was going to meet up with someone tonight.  So I got ready put on my outfit and had some time left over.  I decided to pick up the pile of clothes and stuff in my closet and clean a little while I waited for her.  Well I go to pick up my pants when I feel something on my hand, I look and there is a bunch of puke on my pants.  The puke then runs down the shirt I'm wearing and onto my pants.  So I have to change, clean all of the puke that was on my clothes (oh and some even got on one of my boots and on the walls).  Of course when I'm in the middle of cleaning the door bell rings and my friend is there.  So I'm frantically trying to clean, change and handle my crazy dogs.  What a disaster!  
    Anyway so I get myself together, go out for a little and I come home.  My friend calls me and I'm chatting with her for a bit and I'm walking out of the rooms and all of a sudden I scream because there was a freaking spider hanging from the ceiling and I almost ran into it!  At this point I'm freaked out because spiders terrify me but also I feel bad when I kill them so usually I just show them to my cat and he will attack them and eat them.  The only problem is the damn spider was on the ceiling and I didn't want to knock him down in fear of him falling on me.  So I sit there patiently and watch him on the ceiling.  He starts migrating toward the living room and then begins lowering himself down toward the coffee table.  Once he was close to the table I picked up my cat and showed him the spider.  Immediately he was on the prowl , messed with the spider for a bit and then bam!  Dinner time!  The spider was gone!  Thanks kitty for protecting your mommy!  :)
     So not the most fun afternoon, I think I need a drink...  

Monday, October 12, 2009

But daddy, I don't know what I want to be when I grow up!


     I really need too look for a new job.  It's not just that I'm bored with my current one but I'm going nowhere with it.  I'm not moving up the ladder, I'm not learning anything new, at this point all I'm doing is wasting my time and I don't really know what to do about it.  The next time I get a job I really want it to be a good one, one that I want to stay at for the next 10 years.  A place where I can grow, move up the ladder, make good money.  And the thing is while I am completely aware of my time being wasted my father loves to remind me that I'm wasting my time every time I talk to him.
     Now I don't want you to think he's a mean or bad person.  It's actually quite the opposite.  I have one of the most loving and supportive dads out there.  All he wants to do is push me to my fullest potential and he knows that where I'm at now is not a good place for me career wise.  Could he be pushing me so much because he wants his daughter to make something of herself?  Yes.  Could he be pushing me so much because over the 4 years I was in college he spent over $100,000 on my tuition and living expenses.  I'm sure that's a big fat YES.  He has not asked me to pay back one cent of the education he has paid for.  I owe him something for that, I owe him a daughter with an amazing career.  So I can totally  see where he's coming from.  If I had spent that much on my kid I would hope they would be a surgeon or something by now.  
     I'm just kind of tired of being pushed to do something I'm not necessarily interested in.  I know I need things to change and I am working on it, slowly but surely I am trying to find my right path.  But it's hard to do when you have no idea what you want to be when you grow up!  I'm 25 years old though when will I figure it out??  Hopefully soon.  Honestly my goal is to have a new badass job by the new year.  That gives me a little over 2 months to figure it out.  Maybe I'll hit the internet tonight and start searching.  I can't work in that cube anymore, slowly rotting away (is that a little to intense?  lol)  
   I wish a job would just fall into my lap, lol.

stay tuned....

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Zimbio responded!

And what did they say??!!!


FASHION INTERN POSITIONS HAVE BEEN FILLED.  DAMN!!  Well I didn't expect to get a job there but I thought I'd put it out there and try.  But they did say they would keep my resume on file in case any openings come up, so you never know!  Gotta keep trying!  For now I'm stuck working at the financial company.. boooo...

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Michael from The Office


I swear my manager is like Michael from The Office.  He says the weirdest most random things, a lot of times things that are a red flag and he is just a strange man.  It keeps our office entertaining though and I swear we never know what is going to happen next. 

Example #1  One day there were window washers outside of our window (we're on the 5th floor) he comes near my cube and stands there and stares at them for a bit.  Out loud he says "I know someone wants to go and flash them."  There is a long silence and I hate those awkward silences so I just fill in the space and say "Why don't you do it?"  He just gets red laughs and walks away.  Helllooo you don't say things like that when you have an office full of female workers!  I'm not really bothered by the comments I find them humorous but one day when there is a woman or anyone for that matter around that does not find his things funny he could be in big trouble!

Here is my most recent strange encounter.  I'm in one of my co workers offices trying to figure some work stuff out with her.  I have on this long pearl necklace.  He comes in and is like "Ooo nice beads can I touch them?" and then he asks if I will grab them and hand them to him because he doesn't want to just grab my you know what so I like hold out the pearls as far as I can and he looks at them and I guess admires them?  I'm not really sure?   And then he goes into how normally he would just grab beads and then goes into something about babies liking to grab things, it was just so weird and awkward I can't even explain it.  

Another thing that is kind of weird that we notice is that he notices a lot of things on women about beauty and fashion.  He'll notice intricate details of clothing, notice brands of handbags, notice if someone is wearing eye liner one day when they usually don't.  Is this a sign of being fascinated with women or of being gay?  I'm not sure but we are starting to think it's the latter.  

Anyway this guy is nuts, but it keeps us entertained!

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Please don't make me go back!!!

I cannot even imagine how I'm going to feel going back to work tomorrow I am soooo dreading it!!!  Only two good reasons to go back a) to hang with my awesome co workers and b) to wear some of the cute new clothes I bought while on vacay.  The whole actually working part is going to suck.  Gosh my job is boring.  

OMG my vacay is almost over!!


Wow did a week really go by already??  So sad I have to be stuck in my cube tomorrow but hey at least I got some time away!  I will write more about the trip later and some highlights but of course I have an interesting/weird thing that happened to me while I was away at work.

So I have some company visiting from out of state and we decided to go shopping in The City.  We went to Macy's and ate downstairs in their food court.  When I was sitting there waiting for everyone to order I could see this lady walking by and I could immediately tell she was a little nuts.  She walked kinda funny was talking to herself etc.  Not an unusual site in a city so I just kind of ignored her.  I went to the bathroom before getting my food.  I go into the stall and all of a sudden I hear someone get in next to me.  I hear the crazy lady just talkin away to herself saying who knows what and I'm like omg I need to hurry and get out of here.  I get out to wash my hands and realize I'm the only freakin person in the bathroom with her!  Ugh!  So she gets out and washes her hands next to me and is going crazy yelling things so I quickly was my hands and get out of there.

I got a really good salad from Boudin.  It's funny the way I eat salads, I know this is kind of weird but I don't really care for lettuce that much.  When I eat my salad I eat the lettuce but with whatever is on the salad, chicken, walnuts etc.  Once the goodies are gone I stop and am usually left with a big plate of lettuce.  So we're getting ready to leave and we start packing up our stuff and I get ready to go throw the rest of my food away when I hear.  "Hey lady!  Hey lady!  Can I have your salad??"  I glance over and it's the crazy lady yelling and asking for my leftover food.  I tried ignoring her ( I know I should have just given her the food right away but I panicked) but she just kept yelling and yelling and I'm like "Should I give her my salad?"  My mom goes "yeah give it to her!"  So I walked over and handed her the plate of lettuce, she thanked me and I walked away, looked back and she was eating away.  Next time I will just give away my food right away, at least she wasn't asking for money!

Monday, September 28, 2009

One full week of vacation!

It's Monday morning and usually I'd be on my way into the office, probably not in a very good mood since it's Monday but not this week!  I have one full week off for vacation and I can't tell you how excited I am to get away from that place!  Stay tuned, I'll post any adventures I have from my week off...