I also want to clarify something.. I don't think ALL office positions suck, I just think our company does, haha. I mean if I were working for a badass company that I really believed in and did good things I would probably be more passionate about the office. But ours isn't that meaningful to me.. To be honest I hate the question "So what do you do for a living?" because I'm embarrassed to answer! It's not a quick straight to the point like "I'm a teacher" "I'm a CEO" "I work at a day care" it's so complex because when you tell someone "I'm an underwriter" it usually leads to many questions and then you have to go into what it is your company does and the role you play as an underwriter. I try to make it quick by keeping it simple and ending it with a joke so we can move on. But it usually comes out wrong and I just look like a douche that hates my job. For example yesterday I'm at the gym waiting for my workout class. I arrived a little early and the instructor was sitting there and started talking to me. So she has to ask where I work of course. So I say "Oh I work for a Financial company" (I usually say financial company to keep it simple and straight to the point). But it never ends there, I always have to keep going because I get nervous and feel like I am going to have to get into what our company does and what I do so I sarcastically say "You know one of those fun office jobs." She laughs, and then I respond "It's nice to come to the gym because I just sit at my desk getting fat." Ok there it goes, the foot in my mouth.. Why couldn't I just stop at financial company?
I'm going to try and explain what it is the company I work at does. After I briefly explain it here I never want to explain it again in this blog. I just thought it would help provide a feel for the company and the kind of "exciting" work we do every day. Basically what we do is help people get out of debt. I know what sounds so bad about that right? Well as I've been there for a couple years now I come to realize that I don't really fully believe in what we do. What we are doing are screwing over the credit card companies so they don't get back the full amount that us douche bags decided to go spend. So basically you enter your credit card debt into our program, stop paying your creditors and after a couple years have gone by and you've saved enough money we take that money and negotiate the debt with the creditors. So instead of paying the full amount back you are paying on average about 40% back. I know I know it sounds like a sweet deal right? Especially to those of us out there with credit card debt. But... I feel like we should take full responsibility for what we spend. We were dumb enough to rack up those bills now pay the damn cards back. I am not a complete heartless bitch though. I can understand things in life happen that can set you back. Job losses, death in the family, sickness etc. For those circumstances I really do feel like helping someone is the right thing to do. But the thing is it is not JUST those people that we are helping we help any douche out there. They "overspent" "interest rates when up" "can't keep up with payments." Shoot, I overspend every day and you don't see me joining the program! So I feel like helping the people that need it is awesome and there should be programs for that, but helping anyone that comes through so we can make an extra buck is not fair to the credit card companies (of course we charge fees so our company is getting in on this too.)
So yeah.. that's what I do. I work for a debt settlement company and I review the files that come in to see if they can be accepted into our program. It's to the point where I'm not sure why our company needs underwriter's anymore because they are letting us take anything and anyone into the program.
One last thing that amuses me about the company and where I work is that there are quite a few people that work at the company and help people get out of debt when they themselves have joined the program!! What kind of example is that??
I feel like by the time I'm done at this job I myself may be in debt as well. Why do you ask? Well we used to be able to do anything online.. chat, facebook, check out celebrity news... Well now they have cut us off of everything and pretty much the only thing left for us to do is online shop! So when we are bored what do we do? We shop of course! We kind of found a way around the whole celebrity news thing.. So when we click on links anything tied to "entertainment" is blocked. So what we have to do is going to a major news site (such as MSNBC) and on there they have celebrity news so we do still get some updated info, but it's nothing like Pop Sugar or E!
Also let me clarify I am not some lazy worker that surfs the web all day. I'm actually a really good worker, I do a good amount of files per day and I always have my work done. I just need something to relax my brain sometimes!
I'm eventually going to write about the characters we have nicknamed at the office... Will get to it soon hopefully!!
Ta-ta!!
PS THREE DAY WEEKEND THIS WEEKEND, YESSSSSSSSS!!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment