
Is that bad? Like I seriously don't think I have a dream job.. I see all of these people out there anxious to get on with their careers but I can't really find a career that I'm dying to do. I'm already 25 and I feel like I'm wasting time but I also don't want to jump into something I'm unsure of! So when will I realize what career path is right for me?? The clock is ticking and I'm getting old!!
So I guess if you asked me if I could have ANY job in the world what would it be I could answer it. I'd be content with being involved in the Hollywood scene. Socialite, acting, singing all of the above. Now THAT's a job! I would love to be royalty because all you have to do is wear nice clothes, jewels, wave to people and visit the less fortunate here and there. Like how cool would that be? So I guess maybe that would be my dream job but I mean I don't realistically have a dream job and that makes me sad..
I sometimes feel like I wasn't meant to work.. I don't like working, I think it's boring and seriously the only reason why we do it is for money. If I was working in my cube and making a 6 figure income I don't think I would complain so much. But I'm definitely not making anything nearly close to that so the fact that my job sucks and the pay sucks just makes me even more bitter about the work environment.
Ever since I graduated college in 2006 I haven't had the best luck with jobs and I think that may be a big reason for me hating work so much. I worked as a receptionist for an attorney's office for about 5 months before I quit. I just couldn't take it anymore! It was a small office, I loved pretty much everyone I worked with but the boss was SO mean. I know bosses aren't supposed to be your best friend but I mean this guy was rude and would yell at his employees. He made me so nervous I hated it when he was around! It was so bad that I would call my mom every morning before work and cry before going in because I didn't want to go so bad. Finally one day I was at lunch and I called my good friend to tell him how much I hated my job and how my parents said they would help me out if I wanted to quit. So he convinced me. "Just quit. If you don't like it quit. What are you waiting for." I went back and by the time I was ready to leave I walked into my managers office and gave him my two weeks notice. He was upset. Who knows if it was because he liked the way I worked or because he thought I was attractive (more stories about that sleaze ball to come.) But anyway I didn't back down. I hated it there and wanted out. When I walked out of those doors the last day I felt so liberated. I didn't even stay the full day I left by noon.
So I took a few months off before diving back into the work scene. I finally began working with a few temp agencies and was soon off at interviews for various companies. I finally get an interview and land a job. This is a temp to perm position. The lady who interviewed me was totally excited about me starting and I was excited about starting! This was a wealth management company and their clients were super super rich. I was the receptionist so I would greet clients when they came in. I even saw the creator of YouTube Chad Hurley come in there one time so that was pretty exciting! Anyway I got acquainted with another lady that got hired through the temp agency there around the same time as me so I would lunch with her. The job was super boring of course hardly anyone ever came in and hardly any calls came in. But I heard there was room for growth there and once you moved up the pay was good so I was happy to stay there. The owner of the company was even part owner of the San Jose Sharks so there was all kinds of neat perks like tickets to concerts and events at the HP Pavillion. Not just seats but box tickets so we were up there with a full kitchen, drinks and catered food. I got to enjoy a few events and even a Christina Aguilera concert! It was pretty fun I have to admit. Well one day I am working and the lady I was acquainted with came to say goodbye to me. I was so caught off guard but they had decided to let her go. They had some odd excuse and said they no longer needed her so that was that. A couple days go by and I get a call from my temp agency saying that the company has decided to let me go. They had the WEIRDEST excuses! Something about how the conference room wasn't clean at times (I cleaned it every time someone left) and how calls got transferred to the wrong people. Helllooooo I was new and was doing the best a could and hardly any calls went through anyway so how bad had it been? I was pretty upset about it. I called the lady I had become friends with to tell her. We had figured out that what happened was they hired a bunch of us from the temp agency during tax season (their busy time of year) and then a good amount of us were "no longer needed" after it was over. I think within that week about 3 or 4 of us were let go. So at least I know it wasn't just me!! But yeah that hit me pretty hard. I got over it pretty quick though and did a ton of traveling after that.
When I got back from my traveling I decided to settle down and join the work force again. That's when this "fabulous" job opportunity came up. I have to admit, I was desperate when I took the job. But it was so close to home and the pay was decent at the time I decided to take it. I actually did like it at first, the people were all super nice and most of them were around my age. But obviously I have grown out of the honeymoon stage and I'm ready to get the hell out of there!
Anyway I think with all of these bad job experiences it is really turning me off of wanting to work and it really frustrates me! I don't want to be stuck doing a sucky job the rest of my life but at the same time I don't know what to do with my life! It's a very tough situation and I hope I figure it out soon!!

No comments:
Post a Comment